Withdrawal Agreement First Vote

Explanations of MPs after the vote: first and second part The eight votes took place at the same time, using ballot papers, instead of passing MPs through the lobbies to designate their vote. At the end of November, EU leaders approved a draft 585-page divorce agreement and a political statement on post-Brexit relations. The bill had only been widely condemned weeks earlier by anti-Brexit supporters and lawmakers in the British Parliament. Brexit minister Dominic Raab resigned along with several other ministers, and dozens of members of the Conservative party tried to trigger a no-confidence vote in May. On September 3, Oliver Letwin filed an emergency request for debate on this bill, pursuant to Permanent Order 24. This proposal, to allow the debate for the next day, was adopted at 328 against 301. [120] [121] 21 Conservative MPs voted in favour of the motion, then were removed from the Conservative whip and rejected for future elections, as Johnson had threatened him in advance. The 21 MPs were Guto Bebb, Richard Benyon, Steve Brine, Alastair Burt, Greg Clark, Ken Clarke, David Gauke, Justine Greening, Dominic Grieve, Sam Gyimah, Phillip Hammond, Stephen Hammond, Richard Harrington, Margot James, Letwin, Anne Milton, Caroline Nokes, Antoinette Sandbach, Nicholas Sosame, Rory Stewart and Ed Vaizey. With Phillip Lee`s departure to the Liberal Democrats the day before, this gave the opposition a 43-seat majority over the government.

The government rejected the Lords` proposal to give the House of Commons the power to decide the next steps for the government if the withdrawal agreement is rejected by Parliament. [35] On September 4, the Benn Bill adopted second reading from 329 to 300; The 22nd Conservative Caroline Spelman voted against the government`s position. [123] Later that day, MPs rejected Johnson`s request to declare a general election in October because they failed to secure the two-thirds majority required by the Temporary Parliaments Act by 298 votes to 56. Labour MPs abstained. [124] On January 9, 2019, the government revised the timetable in light of the cancellation of the December 11, 2018 vote. [70] Efforts by the Liberal Democrats to appeal fixed status decisions were rejected by 343 votes to 251, as well as a similar SNP amendment.